The Answer

I always knew I wasn’t me
But I never thought that I would see
The answer laid in front of me
To a question that I dared not ask

Those who came before me knew
The life I lost was never mine
Before I found the answer too
I guess I just ran out of time

If I were ever standing there
Could I find the words to say
Or mute, witness to a time long past
I guess I’ll never see that day

Another life, in which I was
Nothing but an afterthought
Or not, but that I’ll never know
Another answer that can’t be sought

To all those who are part of me
But all those who will never see
The answer to a question, me
The answer to a question…
No one ever asked

Leave a Reply

